Wednesday, November 3, 2010

OMG!! a skin printer...

Well!! this may be a yet another step to achieve the famous Terminator, this one prints living tissues on wounds...
The ultimate version of this machine will print a whole human being (are they humans??) in the near future!! who knows...

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

EPOXI: NASA Spacecraft Preps for Comet Flyby

“In one of its final mission trajectory correction maneuvers, the EPOXI mission spacecraft has refined its orbit, preparing it for the flyby of comet Hartley 2 on Nov. 4. The time of closest approach to the comet on that day is expected to be about 7:02 a.m. PDT (10:02 a.m. EDT).
Today's trajectory correction maneuver began at 11 a.m. PDT (2 p.m. EDT), when the spacecraft burned its engines for 60 seconds, changing its velocity by 1.59 meters per second (3.6 miles per hour).
On Nov. 4, the spacecraft will fly past Hartley 2 at a distance of about 700 kilometers (435 miles). It will be only the fifth time in history that a spacecraft has been close enough to image a comet's nucleus.”
fascinating.. isn't it??

Virtual hugs and intelligent pillows invented in Asia by Amalia Torres

This is a nice and interesting article published on mixed reality lab in “El Mercurio”. El Mercurio is a Spanish newspaper in Chile. The introduction is attractive and inspiring to me!

"Sewing machines, books on the psychology of love and a lot of disorder may not be the image you have of a scientific laboratory. Less from the one who has the difficult task of bringing the virtual world to reality.
However, the Mixed Reality Lab at the National University of Singapore operates on a different logic."

Original article:
English translation: